About the New South Wales Cup


The competition formerly known as the NSWRL VB Premier League is now officially known as the NSWRL New South Wales Cup and is set to showcase top-tier Rugby League to suburban venues throughout the year, with several NRL clubs set to use the competition as a vehicle to play their top-25 squad players who are over the age of 20.

Twelve teams will contest the inaugural competition. All participating clubs are part of or have links with NRL clubs and represent their associated club in the new competition.

  • Auckland Vulcans, formerly the Auckland Lions - Auckland Warriors
  • Balmain-Ryde Tigers - Wests Tigers
  • Cronulla Cobras - Cronulla Sutherland Sharks
  • Canterbury Bulldogs
  • Central Newcastle Knights - Joint venture between the Newcastle Knights and the Central-Charlestown clubs
  • Central Coast Storm - Melbourne Storm
  • Newtown Jets - Sydney Roosters
  • North Sydney Bears - South Sydney Rabbitohs
  • Manly-Warringah
  • Western Suburbs - Wests Tigers
  • Wentworthville - Parramatta Eels
  • Windsor - Penrith Panthers

Weekly television coverage of NSW Cup

From Wednesday, 7 May this season, Fox Sports will broadcast a NSWRL program which features a match of the day and comprehensive highlights, statistics and previews from the VB NSW Cup and Jim Beam Cup.

NSWRL General Manager Geoff Carr said the magazine-style program, which will air each Wednesday at 5pm, would showcase the strengthening standard of the NSWRL's two major competitions.

"Itís also very exciting for the teams that are participating because it will obviously give some assistance to them in attracting sponsors" Carr said.

Worth noting

  • The name of the new Newcastle team, Central Newcastle Knights, has significance in this centenary year of Rugby League because Newcastle as Central Newcastle was a foundation Rugby League Club.
  • The Melbourne Storm no longer has any affiliate club in the Queensland Cup competition.

© Newtown Jets RLFC 2006