About the VB New South Wales Cup


The competition formerly known as the NSWRL VB Premier League was reborn as the NSWRL New South Wales Cup in 2008 and showcases top-tier Rugby League to suburban venues throughout the year.

Featuring 11 sides from throughout the state, and one team from New Zealand the NSW Cup is a feeder competition to many of the sides that participate in the National Rugby League.

The 2008 VB NSW Cup will run for 22 weeks plus final series.

NSW Cup participants in 2009

  • Auckland Vulcans - Auckland Warriors
  • Balmain-Ryde Eastwood Tigers - Wests Tigers
  • Cronulla Sharks
  • Bankstown City Bulls - Canterbury Bulldogs
  • Central Coast Storm - Melbourne Storm
  • Newtown Jets - Sydney Roosters
  • North Sydney Bears - South Sydney Rabbitohs
  • Shellharbour City Dragons - St George-Illawarra
  • Western Suburbs Magpies - Wests Tigers
  • Wentworthville Magpies - Parramatta Eels
  • Windsor Wolves - Penrith Panthers

Weekly television coverage of NSW Cup

In 2008, Fox Sports broadcast a weekly NSWRL program which featured a match of the day and comprehensive highlights, statistics and previews from the VB NSW Cup and Jim Beam Cup.

NSWRL General Manager Geoff Carr said the magazine-style program would showcase the strengthening standard of the NSWRL's two major competitions.

"Itís also very exciting for the teams that are participating because it will obviously give some assistance to them in attracting sponsors" Carr said.

[Details will be posted about television coverage as soon as they become available].

Worth noting

  • The name of the new Newcastle team, Central Newcastle Knights, has significance in this centenary year of Rugby League because Newcastle as Central Newcastle was a foundation Rugby League Club.
  • The Melbourne Storm no longer has any affiliate club in the Queensland Cup competition.

© Newtown Jets RLFC 2009