Newtown Rugby League Football Club - Established 1908
Tinirau Arona wins the Newtown Jets Blue Ribbon Award for 2010


The Newtown Jets RLFC held its 2010 Presentation Night on Thursday evening, 30 September.

Player awards

Tinirau Arona in action against North Sydney at Henson Park in Round 14

Tough front-row forward, Tinirau Arona, was the popular winner of the club's best and fairest and best forward awards for 2010. Arona was a mainstay of the Jets' forward pack and has been rewarded with a contract with the Sydney Roosters in 2011.

Fellow front-rower, Khalid Deeb, won the prestigious Fred Daly Memorial Shield award which is given to the player who has made strong contributions to the club on and off the field.

Tall five-eighth, Johnathon Ford, won the best back award, while classy centre, Tu'u Maori, took out the most improved award as well as being the club's top points-scorer.

Winger, Troy Savage, won the coach's award and utility forward, Ray Moujalli, had the rare honour of being judged the players' player for the second year in succession.

Fullback, Luke Towers, who will be playing with the French club, Limoux, this summer, was the Newtown club's top try-scorer.

Centre, Chris Tuatara-Morrison, received a special award for humanitarianism in recognition of an outstanding act of good citizenship that he performed some weeks ago.

Club Persons of the Year

Sandra Ashley and Kevin Maish, two highly-dedicated supporters who were named as the Club Persons of the Year.

Representative Honours and Selection Milestones

Those players who had won major representative honours or who had attained significant selection milestones were duly praised on the night.

NSW Residents XIII Selection 2010Aidan Guerra
Sydney Roosters NRL SelectionJohnathon Ford and Jason Baitieri
French National Team SelectionJason Baitieri
New Zealand Four Nations Squad SelectionMose Masoe
Papua-New Guinea Four Nations Squad SelectionTu'u Maori, Keith Peters, Richard Kambo
Cook Islands National Team SelectionTinirau Arona, Johnathon Ford, Brad Takairangi, Daniel Fepuleai

Club support awards

Newtown's website manager, Susan Harkus, was also recognised for the exceptional work she does in raising the club's profile with such professionalism.

The club's intrepid photographers - Gary Sutherland, Mike Biboudis and Jason McCawley - who do such a marvellous job in enhancing the club's media profile were also recognised by the audience at the presentation function.

Message for 2011

Senior Director and sponsor, Terry Rowney, paid tribute to the team's achievements during the past season and urged the coaching staff and players on to greater efforts in 2011, in order to overcome the disappointment of having bowed out prematurely from the 2010 NSW Cup finals.

Head coach, Greg Matterson, concurred with Mr Rowney's assessment, stating that he is fiercely determined to bring a premiership back in 2011 to the oldest club in Australian rugby league.