Bears logo 2023 80 height

North Sydney vs. Newtown
Sunday 11th June, 3.00 pm
North Sydney Oval

Newtown’s tough as nails and very skilful backrower Jason Schirnack gets his pass away last Saturday despite the attentions of this Mounties defender. Photo: Gary Sutherland Photography
Newtown’s tough as nails and very skilful backrower Jason Schirnack gets his pass away last Saturday despite the attentions of this Mounties defender. Photo: Gary Sutherland Photography

Can the Newtown Jets stay in the chase for a top four finish – and can they secure the Frank Hyde Shield for 2016 at Henson Park this Saturday?

Two of Rugby League’s 1908 Foundation Clubs meet at Henson Park on Saturday – and members of the Hyde family will be there in force to see the deciding match in this year’s Frank Hyde Shield series.

When Newtown and North Sydney clash, whether it is at Henson Park or North Sydney Oval, they provide two of the marquee occasions of the entire NSWRL Intrust Super Premiership NSW season. The Jets must win on Saturday to stay in the quest for a top four finish and the double-chance in the upcoming ISP NSW finals, while the Bears must win to remain in the hunt as one of five clubs battling for the last two places in the top eight. For both clubs, winning the annual Frank Hyde Shield series is a matter of great pride. Frank Hyde remains one of the most admired and respected names in the history of Australian sport, and both the Newtown and North Sydney Rugby League clubs are immensely proud to claim Frank as one of their most honoured ex-players.

NSWRL Intrust Super Premiership NSW – 24th Round

Saturday, 20th August 2016

Henson Park

Newtown v North Sydney

Kick-Off: 3.00pm.

Newtown’s team for Saturday:

Jaline Graham, Corin Smith, Keenan Yorston, Anthony Moraitis, Jacob Gagan, Josh Cleeland, Fa’amanu Brown, Kurt Kara, Kurt Capewell, Malakai Houma, Saulala Houma, Matt McIlwrick, Junior Roqica.

Bench: Brent Anderson, Jason Schirnack, Arana Taumata, Kurt Dillon, Harrison Muller.

Coach: Greg Matterson.

North Sydney:

Latrell Robinson, Dane Nielsen, Siosifa Talakai, Edward Murphy, Abbas Miski, Sitiveni Moceidreke, Eli Levido, Clayton Williams, Tautatasi Tasi, Patrice Siolo, Jamel Hunt, Bradley Deitz, David Tyrrell.

Bench: Cameron Murray, Latrell Schaumkel, Fred Mauala, Piki Rogers.

Coach: Ben Gardiner.

Referee: Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski. Touch Judges: John Woods and Faye Lehane.

This match will be broadcast live by Steele Sports on:

Here is the ISP NSW competition table after 23 rounds

All the highlights from Round 23 of the ISP NSW

And here is how the NSWRL media team has previewed all the games in Round 24 of the ISP NSW:

This Jets match report and action photo were on page 15 of the Cooks River Valley Times for Wednesday, 17th August:

Gary Sutherland’s photos from last Saturday:

And from Mario Facchini:

News of Newtown Jets alumni:

Jamie Soward was in top form for the London Broncos when they crushed the Gallant Youths of Batley 76-16 in Round Two of the UK Super Eights Qualifiers played last weekend. Jamie scored a try, kicked ten goals and was praised by his coach Ian Henderson for his quality game management.

The Controversy Corner Revisited II function went off very well at the Petersham RSL Club last Wednesday night. Here are Gary Sutherland’s photos from the night:

This Saturday will be the second-last home game occasion for this year, and there will be an excellent range of Newtown Jets clothing and merchandise on sale. You can select and buy your new clothing and merchandise directly from Olga and her highly-competent sales staff at Henson Park home games. And of course you can also buy Newtown Jets clothing and merchandise online by going to:

Last week’s quiz was won by Michael Taylor, who was actually in attendance at the 1966 first semi-final between Newtown and Manly-Warringah at the SCG. Dick Poole was the Newtown coach, and four of the most commonly mentioned players who played with Newtown in 1966 were Brian “Chicka” Moore, Bobby Keyes, Graham Wilson and Paul Quinn.

This week’s quiz:

Twenty years ago Newtown won the 1996 NSWRL Metropolitan Cup first grade premiership when they defeated Ryde-Eastwood 28-16 in the Grand Final at Parramatta Stadium. Colin Murphy coached the team. The first correct entry emailed to that names any six of the 17 Newtown players named in that 1996 Grand Final team will receive an item of top quality Newtown Jets merchandise.

May 28, 2023 - Glebe, New South Wales, Australia, Samuel Stonestreet of the Newtown Jets streaks away to score during Round 13 of the 2023 NSWRL The Knock On Effect NSW Cup at Wentworth Park in Glebe, New South Wales. (Mario Facchini/mafphotography)

Newtown Jets Run Down by Determined Sydney Roosters.

Image: mafphotography

Newtown Jets Team List v Roosters Sun 28th May, 2023

Jets five-eighth Braydon Trindall topped off a marvellous performance with a brilliant individual try just prior to fulltime. Photo: Mario Facchini/mafphotography

Virtuoso performance by Braydon Trindall keynote of Newtown’s big win over the Newcastle Knights

Image: Mario Facchini/mafphotography

Newtown Jets Team List v Newcastle Knights Sat 20th May, 2023

Jets halfback Niwhai Puru takes on a powerfully-built Sea Eagles opponent. (NSWRL Facebook)

Jets drop a valuable point after opening up a big lead

Image: MAF Photography

Newtown Jets Team List v Sea Eagles Sun 14th May, 2023

Australian Mutual Bank
Front of Jersey

Petersham RSL
Back of Jersey

Back of Jersey, Training Gear, Socks

Jersey Minor

John Singleton Group

Schofield King Lawyers

Front of Shorts

The Henson
Back of Shorts

Sydney Park Hotel
Back of Shorts

Sports Medicine Institute
Medical Services & Rehabilitation

Label Plus
Major Sponsor

Arista Technologies
Technology Partner

Newtown Jets respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the Land and pay our respects to their Elders past and present. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on and that the land area encompassing Henson Park traditionally belonged to the Gadigal people of the Eora nation.